Freedom Comes…

3 Jan

Now, I haven’t really brought up my love for Lifehouse lately. But I assure you, it is still there. 🙂 I’ve just learned how to control my love for them. Ha.

I decided that I want to share with you some facts that you probably aren’t aware of.

The first being, that many of their songs are inspired by God 🙂

The second, many of their older songs are actually Christian worshipy songs 🙂

And I will share with you a hidden gem.

A song that sounds cheesy – at first. But when you reeeallly start to listen to the lyrics, it is real and beautiful.

It’s the song I try to listen to each morning on my way to work. It’s my motivation for the day. The knock on my head to remember that I can’t do this on my own – I. need. Jesus.

And He is all powerful.

I have two vivid memories of this song.

The first memory is during the Spring of 2009 when my love for the band really took off. I listened to this song each morning when I had to wake up at butt crack o’dawn to make coffee. My favorite mornings were the ones when I would work at 7:30 am. That is when the sun would first be peaking up, making its presence known. I would try to time the song just right so that while passing the lake of Lake Stevens, the sunlight peaking over the legit mountains would shine on me as the lyric, “Freedom comes in the morning time, as the sun begins to shine on my face…” was sung in Jason Wade’s lovely voice 🙂 It gave me the chills everytime.

The second memory was in Joplin. When on mission trips and retreats, I always include a time of worship in my quiet time. Those times of worship are always some of my favorite, and the ones I spent in Joplin were the best of the best. Each morning we read in Psalms, I would go outside, sit on a giant cement block overlooking the Eastern sky, and watch as the sky would go from midnight blue to the early morning shades of pink and orange. Again, I would time it just right so the first ray of sunshine on my face would happen as Mr. Wade sung, “Freedom comes in the morning time, as the sun begins to shine on my face…”

Here’s a picture from one of those days…

…now if only the darn delivery trucks weren’t in the way…

It was still beautiful. And it was a GREAT way to start each morning, remembering the power Jesus has in this world. He CAN indeed shake the mountains with just a whisper.

My most favorite lyrics in the song, however, is more about finding rest in Him. When working anytime before 9 AM or grueling days in the Missouri or Mexico heat, remembering the ultimate rest comes from Jesus – and only He can lead us there, reminds me to pray for that rest. So each time the lyric,

Lead me to the place where i can go and find rest, cause i’m so tired. And now, let me feel Your breath on my face.

I would sing it as a prayer to Him. And then continue in that reverence throughout the rest of the day, knowing I could not do any of the work without Him.

His rest truly became real to me while in Joplin. Staying up late, getting up early, working in the heat. Because I sought out His rest, I came back from the mission trip feeling rested. Refreshed. If I had done it on my own, I would have been a very cranky person. Trust me.

So, now, as usual…I will give you the lyrics to the song and hopefully a link. This would be a PERFECT song for a morning worship session at the Stilly. Hint, hint… 😉

http://grooveshark.com/songWidget.swf

You Can Shake the Mountains

Freedom comes in the morning time
As the sun begins to shine
On my face
And even in the dark i’m not alone
You guide me by the hand
You won’t let go
And i know you’ll carry me when i can’t walk

And you can
Shake the mountains with a whisper
And you, you speak
And i fall at your feet again

You burned the chains off of my feet
That held me to the ground
You let me rise
Don’t ever let me come back down
Or even live a day apart from you
‘Cause you lifted me
Higher than my doubts and fears

And you can
Shake the mountains with a whisper
And you, you speak
And i fall at your feet
And you are so beautiful
And i am so in love with you
You, you lead
And i will follow close behind

Now i’m waiting here for you
And don’t be far away tonight
Lead me to the place where i can go and find rest
‘Cause i’m so tired
And now let me feel your breath on my face

And you can
Shake the mountains with a whisper
And you, you speak
And i fall at your feet
And you are so beautiful
And i am so in love with you
You, you lead
And i will follow close behind

You…(la di di di)
You…(la di di di)

Leave a Reply

