Beyond the Obvious.

23 Nov

“Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ.” Ephesians 6:2

It is true that misery loves company, so it would only make sense to surround yourself with folks who have the “cup half full” perspective when in midst of trials and testings…and having to wait patiently to see what the Lord has up His sleeve.

…if He has sleeves 🙂

Talking with a friend the other night, we realized that the group of us we refer to as the “Regs” (sorry I used it in public). More specifically those of us who were on the Joplin trip together, are all going through trying and changing times.

Each and every one of us. 

Moving, marriages, break-ups, new churches, pruning, family issues, the list goes on. But one thing is the same, we’re all going through a changing time in which all we have to hold on to is the promises we were given by Him who created us. And thankfully He gave us each other to bear each others burdens and lift each other up in prayer and fellowship.

And lots of laughter. (Thank you, Nicole, for praying for laughter!)

I guess with Thanksgiving being tomorrow, this blog is more an ode of thanks to Jesus for giving me these people to share my burdens with. This is me saying, “Thank You”, for blessing me on that trip. I never could imagine it being such a blessing in my life, but it is. He changed me for the better there. He humbled me and gave me hope again.

That mission trip was the start of a new chapter of my life. I can only go forward from here, knowing that I have some of the greatest friends (new AND old) by my side praying and supporting me.

I’m blessed and I know it.

I have the most amazing family who goes out of their way to see me. Who supports me and truly loves me. I love my family. My Grandma, aunts, uncles, cousins…sisters, brothers, dad, and mom. And of course, my nephews. My amazing, chubby faced nephews.

And though most of my family lives far away, I have the Jerde’s and Songstad’s (my two brother-in-law’s families) who make me feel like family. Because all in all…we are.

And I love my friends who keep me out late on weekdays watching movies and passing around the truth stick. Who invite me to gatherings at their house, who pray for me, who listen to me, who give me wisdom, who can be fools with me, who love the Lord with me. I’m sorry all you people out there…I have the best friends in the world. Hands down.

So, thank you all. This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for all the people in my life.

All my family, friends, youth groupers, church family, etc.

You bless me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

