Persecuted Not Crushed.

18 Nov

Now, I don’t really follow football. I don’t really know any of the players except Matt Hasselback or Tom Brady…but with all the media on Tim Tebow recently, it has sparked some interest in me.

A player who chooses to give all glory to God when scoring a touchdown. A player who is nice. A player who has a childlike faith in Him. A player who posts Bible verses on his Facebook fan page regularly. A player who has a heart of compassion. A player who really strives to be like Him who created him and is not afraid to be set apart and face persecution.

And it’s not like the persecution we face in our lives – it’s wide spread. ALL OVER THE MEDIA. And yet, he continues to do as he has done.

I read an awesome article on Fox Sports and just laughed to myself as I read this –

“He is too nice, and thereby we want him to trip up so we can feel better. We want him to be revealed as a hypocrite, and when that fails to happen, we settle for gleefully celebrating his failures on the football field. And why? Because he dares to say thanks?” – Jen Floyd Engel

I wonder if this lady even know that the very thing she said is the very thing we were told would happen?

“For no guilt of mine, they run and set themselves against me.” Psalm 59:4

“Be merciful to me, my God, for my enemies are in hot pursuit; all day long they press their attack. My adversaries pursue me all day long; in their pride many are attacking me. When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. In God, whose word I praise—in God I trust and am not afraid. What can mere mortals do to me? 5 All day long they twist my words; all their schemes are for my ruin. They conspire, they lurk, they watch my steps, hoping to take my life.” Psalms 56:1-6

“But for Your sake we are killed all day long; We are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” Psalm 44:22

“These things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33

There are SO many verses I could bring up, but it  all comes down to this – Jesus was persecuted and in striving to be like Him, we will be persecuted, too because of His name.

But will the persecution do for us? Will it cause us to stumble?

“Who will separate us from the love of Christ? Will tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?” Romans 8:36

It makes me so thankful that this guy is being persecuted. Because despite all the slack and persecution he has been receiving for loving Jesus – he is still steadfast in his faith. That is what we are called to be, what a great man of faith he is. I am proud to call him a brother in Christ. And from a woman’s perspective, that is WORLDS more attractive than all those guys criticizing him.

He will fail, we can’t hold him on a pedestal – he needs Jesus for a reason! I just hope and pray that he will continue to make his love for Christ known, not being fearful of the persecution he is to receive, but rather welcoming it and allowing his faith to grow in it. Christ is faithful.

Way to go, Tebow 🙂

One Response to “Persecuted Not Crushed.”

  1. Jim Jacobson 2011 November 19 at 8:30 am #

    Great article. I like how you think. I like that you do think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

