Elixir of Life.

3 Oct

Now when you read the title, knowing me, you may think one of two things.

1.) Jesus Christ (who is THE ultimate Elixir of Life)

and…

2.) Cytomax.

But i assure you, this elixir is different.

This elixir has a very acquired taste. Even an acquired smell.

But with all nastiness and acquiredness aside, it IS an elixir of life. Especially to me, being intolerant to lactose and other things.

The elixir of life I am referring to is raw apple cider vinegar.

Yes, you heard me. RAW APPLE CIDER VINEGAR.

I prefer this kind

It has the “Mother” in it. 😉

I know what you’re thinking and even what your face looks like when you read that I consume this elixir of life.

I know this, because that is the face my friends make when I tell them.

But in all seriousness, I just want to share why I call Raw Apple Cider Vinegar the, “elixir of life”.

The main symptom I have being lactose (and possibly gluten) intolerant…is bloating. It’s so bad that I can make myself look 6 months prego.

I assure you my back is NOT arched.

Sometimes in the July-ish part of the Summer I found the Braggs for sale at the grocery store and decided to buy some. I bought one of the Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar drinks at the Co-op in Everett a week or so before and realized that all that was in it was the vinegar, water, and honey. So easy to make myself! I also knew from my sis that apple cider vinegar is a liquid of many cures, and wanted to see what it would do to my body. Not expecting anything, really…

But now that I have consumed all the 32 ounces of Braggs…I do in fact notice a difference.

But before I go into that, I will give you more to my story of digestive problems and when I decided to do something about it.

I’ve known I’ve been lactose intolerant for sure for only 4 years. However, now that I think back all the way to the first grade, I realize that I’ve had problems for a while. From stomach cramping to dermatitis.

I don’t know what finally made me associate my bodies ailments with lactose intolerance, but it finally happened. And I began to limit my dairy intake for the next 3 1/2 years. I started using soy milk (I use coconut milk now…soy is bad, bad, bad…just as bad as dairy for me) and for a while took pills (which gave me stomach cramps, too…) And then this past Spring I had a scary realization while doing the 30 hour famine.

I never got hungry.

And after 24+ hours of NOT eating…I was STILL bloated!

I also gained 10 pounds in 3 months.

So yeah, I decided to do something about my body.

I began looking at the ingredients more closely on the food I was eating and did without cheese and other dairy products as much as possible.

And I began to notice somewhat of a difference.

And then I began using the elixir of life. I put about a teaspoon in a cup or two of water (sans the honey) and did that once or twice a day. I stopped buying juice so i would have to drink it instead.

And then I started getting hungry.

Not just hungry…FAMISHED!

I was VERY happy about that.

And now that the bottle of Braggs is all gone, I have come to realize that a majority of the bloating is gone as well!!!

And I am down 5 pounds without trying!

So, if bloating is something you are dealing with from an intolerance…try RAW apple cider vinegar. Like I said, it’s an acquired taste. But it worked! And I feel better and more confident about my body.

One Response to “Elixir of Life.”

  1. shannon1595 2011 October 3 at 6:25 pm #

    we sprayed this on my old horse because he was allergic to mold and would get really bad bumps all over, it worked wonders. that stuff is awesome!

Leave a Reply

