Some Good Stuff…

23 Sep

I get daily devotionals from Greg Laurie each morning in my inbox, I’ve been trying to make it a habit to read them each morning right when I wake up so the bright light from my phone wakes me up. It’s been working just great when I actually do it 🙂

Anyway…

This week he has been focusing on marriage and I just wanted to share with y’all some of the things that stuck out to me. To encourage and humble those who need it in the wake of so beginning and ending marriages.

1.

“An allowance is given for divorce, and it is sexual immorality. It violates the oneness between a husband and a wife. The apostle Paul said, “And don’t you realize that if a man joins himself to a prostitute, he becomes one body with her? For the Scriptures say, ” ‘The two are united into one’ ” (1 Corinthians 6:16).
Having said that, adultery is not only grounds for divorce, but it is also grounds for forgiveness. I have seen marriages survive it. I have seen marriages flourish in its aftermath. However, I am in no way rationalizing it. Adultery is never a good thing. Trust is broken, and it will take years to get it back. Adultery is very damaging, but a marriage can survive it.”

2.

“How different marriages would be today if a husband and wife both entered into their marriage by asking themselves, How can I meet my spouse’s needs? How can I fulfill my spouse? I believe it would make all the difference in the world.

Instead, so many couples start out their marriage with an attitude that says, “I won’t do this, and you need to. . . .” But that is not the way marriage works. We are to submit to one another in the fear of God.”

3.

“This involves constant communication before marriage and during the marriage. In a poll that was taken among people who were divorced, 86 percent cited deficient communication as the number-one reason for the breakup of the marriage. There was a communication breakdown.

Every marriage will have its conflicts, and couples need to learn how to resolve this. Cleaving together means putting the needs of your mate above your own. And as Ruth Graham once said, “A successful marriage is made up of two good forgivers.””

4.

“Having members of the opposite sex as friends can be problematic at best and potentially destructive at worse. Most adultery happens through close contact and relationship, not mere sexual

 attraction. So be very careful. Your best friend should be your husband or your wife.

5.

“Marriage depends on two things: Finding the right person and being the right person. So let’s be realistic. No man or woman will meet the deepest needs of our lives. Instead, our contentment should come from our relationship with God.”

You can subscribe to the devotions by clicking here, it’s on the left hand side!

**I got the picture from http://sponsa-christi.blogspot.com/2009/10/what-kind-of-rings-do-consecrated.html**

Leave a Reply

