So Much to Look Forward to!

10 Aug

Two of my closest friends are getting married on Saturday! ๐Ÿ™‚
It’s hard to believe they’ve only been part of my life for four years…it truly feels as though it’s been at least a decade! I am soooo very thankful for them in my life, for their fellowship and companionship. Justine has blessed me with so much wisdom in the last four years, I can still hear her (and Alistair Begg) saying, “Never assume a friendship is more than a friendship when it begins!” The Lord has used her so muchย in my life, she introduced me to some of my closest friends. She is the one that encouraged and motivated me to move out into the “Red House”. She has been my trusty companion for the last four years. And in those four years, I have been by her side as many of our friends got engaged and married. And what I admire most about her is that during those hard years of learning true patience and watching friend after friend get hitched, she trusted the Lord’s timing. She wasn’t one of those girls who whine and complain their way into marriage, she waited patiently, knowing the Lord’s timing is the perfect timing. She knew all the years of waiting would all be worth it in the end.

And then there’s Nigel. A friend once asked, “When did the animosity start between you and Nigel?” Don’t think more of it than it is, it’s not true animosity, the best way I can describe it is a brother-sister relationship. He’s my brother, my twin brother…because i don’t really think of him much older than me, nor do i think of him younger. He’s definitely the oldest twin, but still. Maybe by a minute…or two. Our sibling-like relationship is so believable that we have convinced multiple youth group students we are actually brother and sister. And they believed us ๐Ÿ™‚ Haha…but seriously, I am so thankful for all the men the Lord has placed in my life. And Nigel is one of the main guys. He’s one of those guys I trust, even at speeds of 140+ mph in his 240. Though there is a lot of teasing going on between us 90% of the time, I know deep down he loves me like a sister and so I can easily brush off anything he says. Many times when someone wants to set me up with a guy, I tell them Nigel and Jaden have to approve. Jaden’s the judge of their moral, if the guys passes then he goes through Nigel, who is the judge of personality. Nigel also came up with my alter-ego, “June Luxemburg” and has encouraged me to do a lot of things I wouldn’t normally do…like shenanigans. And running from the Gorge security guards. And tearing down tents while people are sleeping in them. And…the list goes on.

So yeah, for the last 4 years, Nigel and Justine have been two constants in my life. I don’t think many weeks have gone by where I haven’t seen or interacted with them in some way, and I am so thankful for them. They were there, inviting me to hang out, in some of my darkest days. I am so, so, so thankful for them. I’m so thankful for their commitment and devotion to Jesus, their friends, and each other. They had J.O.Y. ๐Ÿ™‚ And as Justine is walking down the aisle, I will definitely be crying, because I know how hard it was for her to wait. I will be standing with pride that she is one of my best friend, honored to be one of her bridesmaids.

And may I also mention that the last 5 years of dating for them is a slap in the face to anyone who thinks it’s impossible to remain pure until marriage? FIVE YEARS PEOPLE! That’s pretty much unheard of these days.

Thank you for your friendship, Nigel and Justine, it means more than you can ever know!

I don’t have the phone on me right now, but during the first year of our friendship, Justine sent me a text that went something like this, “I cannot wait for you and Kaelee to get married so we can all go camping together.”

Neither can I ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

