It’s easy for me…

23 May

“Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? And what accord has Christ with Belial? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever? And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God. As God has said: “I will dwell in them And walk among them. I will be their God, And they shall be My people.” Therefore “Come out from among them And be separate, says the Lord. Do not touch what is unclean, And I will receive you.’ “

Though I gave my life to Christ at the beginning of my senior year of high school, it wasn’t until I graduated that i began realizing what SACRIFICE that called for. I remember my older sister telling me over, and over, and over again…”Bad company corrupts good character.” 1 Corinthians 15:33. But honestly, I ignored her.

It wasn’t that I thought myself as incorruptible…but I thought my friends at that time of life were good people. They couldn’t corrupt me because they weren’t bad company. They were nice, funny, and respected my virgin ears…usually.

But then the heartbreak of heartbreaks happened…and I began allowing the Lord to enter my heart. But not all the way…I still “loved” that boy who broke my heart (for stupid reasons, mind you. Reasons I am actually quite proud of!) I would have done almost anything to have him back in my life…and the weeks prior to my graduation at the ripe, ol’ mature age of 18, I got what I wanted. I had him back. But amongst all the hoopla of my graduation (and J&H’s wedding), it was easy to ignore the Lord. I knew it wasn’t right for me to be dating an unbeliever, my sister and Jaden made sure I knew that. But I still went through with it, and once all the chaos of that crazy, crazy weekend died down, an unfamiliar heaviness was placed upon my chest.

I knew it was the Lord.

I knew the relationship wasn’t right.

I knew I had to get out of it.

And by the grace of God, it ended very quickly after that. My naivety was my saving grace and things that should have bothered me didn’t. I could’ve cared less that that guy went to talk to his ex-girlfriend the week prior to our online breakup…but I didn’t. I probably was cheated on, but I could care less.

You see, when I am right before God…the things of this world don’t matter. I’d choose righteousness over worldliness ANY DAY!

But I still had my unbelieving friends…I still had some ties to unbelievers that I held on to. But after a camping trip where some of them did things I could never find myself agreeing with…I had no desire to hang out with them again.

I had to end an 8+ year friendship because of the things that person involved themselves in…and told me about. My conscience couldn’t handle it. I had the light…I didn’t not want anything to do with darkness. With the world.

It’s been five years since I graduated high school, and I can count on one hand the amount of times I’ve hung out with unbelieving friends since Summer 2006. Funny thing is, is that I have no desire to. Sure, I miss them…but I have nothing in common with them.

My righteousness is more important to me than keeping the friendships that lack Jesus at the center. I wish every Christian would have moments of “AHA!” as I did when I realized I had nothing in common with the world. But they don’t. They think I am judgmental and ridiculous, but it’s me fighting for my Jesus.

I guess I should add that there is nothing wrong with having unbelieving friends and hanging out every once in a while. Every conscience is different, some can handle it and others can’t. EVERY ONE IS DIFFERENT! But when we are around unbelievers, we are called to “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation.” When you are around unbelievers what are your motives? Is it for the sake of THEIR salvation?

“Abstain from every form of evil.” 1 Thessalonians 5:22

Meaning we shouldn’t even give the APPEARANCE of sin! Even if you aren’t sinning, giving the illusion of sin is something to STILL avoid. There’s no reason for it, so don’t do it. Simple as that. If you are called judgmental and closed-minded for it, well those people OBVIOUSLY only care about themselves and not about your righteousness before Jesus. You are a precious child of Jesus, it’s something worth fighting for!

What are YOUR thoughts about befriending unbelievers? What’s your mindset when spending time with them? How do you make sure you influence them and NOT them influencing you? AND when you know of a fellow, dear believer to be falling into the hands of unbelievers, how do you approach them?

2 Responses to “It’s easy for me…”

  1. Brother in Christ 2011 June 4 at 10:51 pm #

    Do you think the scripture reference in Thessalonians is broad? What if one Christian calls something evil but another sees no sin? Do you know of any ways to better identify what is or appears to be evil?

    • womanchild88 2011 June 6 at 4:49 pm #

      Thanks for the question! I think largely it depends on a persons role in the body of Christ. I myself serve as a leader in the youth group and need to live a life that reflects Christ in order to serve Him righteously, purely, and soberly. If there are pictures of me on, say, Facebook at parties with people abusing drugs and alcohol – how will that be reflected to those girls who look up to me? Even if I do not participate in the drinking, what is my use of being there? Sure, the gospel still can be used…(I have no authority to say that Christ can’t use those opportunities!) But the Lord has different plans for me, and even if i am innocent and take no part in the partying…I don’t want to be a hypocrite.
      I suppose you can also use the all too familiar example of asking yourself, “if my grandma was here, would i be doing/wearing/saying this?”…or better yet, in an example of a believer in Christ, would you be doing/wearing/saying that if your pastor was present?
      I know it’s probably still really vague…i guess that’s why i’m thankful for the Holy Spirit’s discernment 🙂

Leave a Reply

