You are all I need

8 Dec

Now, I am one of those people who don’t need to try very hard to be successful. Many things have come easy to me in my life, and while that may sound good to some, there is one HUGE downfall. Not having to try hard, means not giving my all. Most importantly in my relationship with the Lord, I don’t give my whole heart.

A couple weeks ago I had a dream, I can’t remember what it was about, but a name was given to me right before I woke up. Now, as any single girl would, I jumped to conclusions and thought that was the name of the guy I’d marry. But eventually I came to my senses and I began telling myself I was foolish – not that it isn’t possible, but I don’t want to be sound blinded by guys with that name. I had another idea…maybe I should look up the meaning of the name! So last night I did just that, and my heart slightly dropped. First, it’s a Hebrew name…it didn’t even occur to me that it was! And most importantly, the  meaning in Hebrew is “whole-hearted”.

It’s something I fail at…it’s easy for me to sliiiiiiide on by. I know the right words to say, times to raise my hands during worship, and how to act. But many times, it’s not whole-heartedly. I find myself struggling with my pride to realize that I am not a good person and I DO indeed need a Savior. I get so involved in the motions that I forget that I am in a relationship with the Lord.

I received unexpected grace (yet..when is it expected?) from a friend this past week. I didn’t quite know what to expect from the whole situation and I was scared I would ruin everything. He challenged me to really think and pray about where my time and thoughts are invested…in other people, myself, the internet? Check…check…and check. My thoughts need to be on Jesus, my time needs to be invested in Jesus, i need Jesus. Yet, my thoughts have been holding me captive.

It’s funny how certain words or themes come about each week as I have been doing my study with an awesome, awesome lady. This last week we focused on Colossians 2 for a Kay Arthur study. In verse 8 it tells us,

“Beware lest anyone cheat you through philosophy and empty deceit, according to the tradition of men, according to the basic principles of the world, and not according to Christ.”

Kay Arthur mentions that “In Greek, the phrase ’empty deceit’ describes the philosophy which might take us captive.”

Verse 9 goes on to say…

“For in Him dwells ALL fullness of the Godhead bodily, and you are COMPLETE in Him, who is the head of all principality and power.” and 15, “Having disarmed principalities and powers, He made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them in it.”

So pretty much all the fullness, everything is in Christ who makes ME complete. I don’t need facebook or people to fulfill me, I need Jesus. If I draw near to Him, He WILL draw near to me – that’s a promise. He is the only one who can fully fulfill us forever. So, I challenge you to do the same – focus more on Him, and less on the things of this world.

I’ve taken baby steps these last few days, but now that school is done and out of the way for this quarter…it’s time to really focus on my relationship with the Lord. It’s time for me to be whole-hearted about something. To go along with the theme of this week is my current favorite song by JJ Heller – All I Need (P.S. If you haven’t given her much of a listen, I suggest doing so! She’s awesome!)

I don’t need a thing
My good Shepherd brings me all
You are all I need
You let me catch my breath
Even in the valley of death
You are all I need

All I need to be complete is Your love
Your blood that covers me

You lift up my head
You provide the wine and bread
You are all I need
There’s no need to fear
Even with my enemies here
You are all I need

All I need to be complete is Your love
Your blood that covers me

Goodness and mercy are following me
You are all that I need
You make a home for me
With pastures of green as far as I see
You are all I need

All I need to be complete is your love
Your blood that covers me

One Response to “You are all I need”

  1. tinaf07 2010 December 8 at 12:09 am #

    I liked this post. It’s really nice to see young ppl blog about their faith in Christ. Where I’m from alot of young ppl or ppl in general don’t bother with church let alone faith in Christ. My pastor gave us some astonishing statistics about this. I hope my blogging ministry with my church can really fill this need in my hometown.

Leave a Reply

