to be like Him

6 Dec

Recently in the Upperroom we went over the story of the leper, found in Mark 1:40. If you haven’t heard it before, i’ll give ya a quick recap.

A leper came up to Jesus and said, “If  You are willing, You can make me clean.” Jesus had compassion on the man, touched him and told him, “I am willing; be cleansed.” and he was cleansed.

Now, I don’t know about you…but I wouldn’t want to touch a leper. It would be hard for me to find the compassion in the midst of fear and selfishness. But Jesus did and we are called to be like Him.

There is a couple in the shoppe right now who are older, and well…carry a scent that makes me seriously dread going inside their car. The lady is talking a little too much to me while I am trying to do my job, listen to my music, and keep to myself. I hate to use this term, but since she said it, i would…they’re a “charity case” on disability and social security. Something about them reminds me of the grandparents in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I think the lady has mentioned her husband is 71 at least four times…as well the story of how she got on disability. My first judgement is that she is trying to make us feel sorry for her, and i do to a point…but

When I read the story of the leper in Mark, I thought to myself, “oh, it would be EASY to have compassion on a person like that!”. Or even in James 2:1-13 where it says the following…

My brethren, do not hold your faith in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ with an attitude of personal favoritism. For if a man comes into your assembly with a gold ring and dressed in fine clothes, and there also comes in a poor man in dirty clothes, and you pay special attention to the one who is wearing the fine clothes, and say, “You sit here in a good place,” and you say to the poor man, “You stand over there, or sit down by my footstool,” have you not made distinctions among yourselves, and become judges with evil motives? Listen, my beloved brethren: did not God choose the poor of this world to be rich in faith and heirs of the kingdom which He promised to those who love Him? But you have dishonored the poor man. Is it not the rich who oppress you and personally drag you into court? Do they not blaspheme the fair name by which you have been called? If, however, you are fulfilling the royal law according to the Scripture, “YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF,” you are doing well. But if you show partiality, you are committing sin and are convicted by the law as transgressors.

But you know, when i read that…it does seem easy. But when the time to do some comes to play – it’s hard. I need to take a walk in their footsteps…why at 71 the guy could barely make it around, when my grandma who is in her late-70’s is still on the dance floor. I don’t know their story, but maybe if i had the amount of compassion Jesus has…I would have more compassion on them. But to get to that point, unless it is a gift, takes practice.

Compassion is something I have been lacking at…and just last night I prayed for more compassion. And it seems to me that my prayer was answered…

Leave a Reply

