He met me there

22 Oct

My 17th birthday was on a Monday, the day we got back from Spring break. At the time, I was dating the senior baseball star and spent lunch with him and our friends at the benches outside the gym. That day, some people decided to take our spots and so we ate in the commons.

What happened that day at lunch changed my world…truly. I found out my boyfriend got drunk for the first time and I can’t explain WHY exactly I was so mad, but I was and I told him to “Never do it again”…his response, “Why? It’s not like I’m a raging alcoholic.”

yeah, that only made me even more mad. After a few moments of flipping through my magazine I got up and went to the bathrooms in the senior lounge to be alone. I sat on the stall and I prayed. It was the first time I turned to the Lord in such a manner. I don’t remember exactly what I prayed, but it was the first moment of surrendering myself to the Lord. I believe it was there that I met Him for the first time, I was totally shattered but His love got me through.

It took a little while for me to step out and go to church, but I started serving for childcare on Wednesday nights. I spent the hot Summer evenings picking flowers and playing aliens with amazing children. Even to this day, I will suggest if you are brokenhearted, hang out with toddlers – they’ll make you laugh and find joy again.

I wish it didn’t take a broken heart from an immature guy to bring me to the Lord. I wish most of the big trials in my life had nothing to do with guys, but in all honesty — they do. But I have come to realize, that He gives us different testimonies so we may minister to people in a way others can’t. I can tell you WHY i am so passionate about 2 Corinthians 6. I think I even wrote a blog about why 🙂 I can tell you it IS possible to stay a virgin even when your boyfriend asks you over and over and over again…relentlessly. That relationship was NOT more important that my purity, I couldn’t lie to myself. And I wasn’t even saved while saying “no”…I was just naive and scared…and didn’t love him!

“For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”Matthew 11:30

How true that is.

I met Jesus in the bathroom stall on my 17th birthday. The worst yet best birthday ever.

2 Responses to “He met me there”

  1. Dave 2010 October 23 at 8:47 am #

    …having a 14 year old daughter and a 10 year old son, it’s comforting to know that it’s possible for today’s youth to maintain a smile and a sense of morals while the majority of your peers seem to be spiraling down hill at a high rate of speed. It gives me hope; hope for my kids and hope for the future of our society. Whatever makes you so strong, hold on to it….and definitely keep writing 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Everything is Changing… « Adventures of a Woman-Child - 2011 March 15

    […] And then…I began dating a boy…and, well…you know the story. […]

Leave a Reply

