Today….

16 Sep

it took a while for me to wake up today, I sort of felt like a zombie from the time i woke up until…well, somewhere around 7 pm. Now that Fall is on its way and today wasn’t the sunniest of days, we have been spending a fair amount of time inside watching movies. I have a slight feeling we may get tired of our movie selection by Winters end…hmmph.

Tonight was interesting, though. Nicole was ooberly-joyful and laughing in ways i have never heard before…not so much loud and jolly as it was squeaky and cute (and lacking air!) I love her 🙂 Best sister-in-law-squared, ever!!

I found another spider in our back room, i slammed the one last night between a dvd case and the wall (and left its guts to show me in my glory). But tonight was a different story. We just started watching The Sentinel (with Jack Bauer!) when i saw something the size of a babies hand wander through the pile of dvds and blankets. I screamed, of course, and eagerly demanded the guys to KILL IT! Nigel failed to believe me, he found no spider. It wasn’t underneath the dvd pile. It wasn’t underneath the pile of blankets, so of course i was mistaken…right….RIGHT?!? So he threw the pile of blankets towards Nicole and I…and guess what just so happened to land on my footstool?

The spider.

Only it was visible to Nicole and I only, so no one else saw. While Nicole speed-raced into the mudroom and i tried climbing the walls, Nigel, Justine, and Jon were left clueless.

Never underestimate the fear a creepy spider has on an arachnophobe!

testing, testing…

I’m hoping the above link works, I thought I lost my phone so Nigel called it on his…and left my voicemail going for a minute. I was caught in all my excitement of how I can send an voicemail blog post on here. It’s pretty sweet…hopefully i will get around to trying it soon!!

A few months ago I went on a binge of reading Psalms. I just could not get enough! There is such GREAT stuff in that book, i LOVE it! But i must admit, knowing 119 was the longest chapter of the Bible…i dreaded reading it. And the entire time i read it, i kept thinking of how i did not want to read something of great length. Shane is on vacation, so Matt Esterley did the study in the Upperroom…he had us read through 119 and find a verse that spoke to us. I found mine right away.

25 My soul clings to the dust;
Revive me according to Your word.
26 I have declared my ways, and You answered me;
Teach me Your statutes.
27 Make me understand the way of Your precepts;
So shall I meditate on Your wonderful works.
28 My soul melts from heaviness;
Strengthen me according to Your word.
29 Remove from me the way of lying,
And grant me Your law graciously.
30 I have chosen the way of truth;
Your judgments I have laid before me.
31 I cling to Your testimonies;
O LORD, do not put me to shame!
32 I will run the course of Your commandments,
For You shall enlarge my heart.

Psalm 119:25-32

Right away I was drawn in, as Bethany Dillon uses the first verse in one of my MOST favorite songs EVER, called “So Close” It really is an amazing song! So Close – Bethany Dillon (listen, it’s free!) 🙂

I’m so close to being so far away from You
Though I know no one on their own makes it through
My soul clings to the dust
So in Your life, let it be enough
I’m so foolish to believe that I can escape Your love….

I think every line of those verses from Psalms is applicable to me in some way as of lately. Matt said his favorite was 119:32, the NIV translations says it like this…

“I run in the path of your commands, for you have set my heart free.”

Some folks think being a Christian is a ball-and-chain death sentence. So many things you cannot do…what fun is in that, they ask?

But the truth is…i am more free today in my walk than i ever was as an unbeliever. I am NOT a slave to sin, i AM free. I am FREE to do as I please, and thankfully i have an AMAZING Lord who died for me so when i do mess up (which is often), i am forgiven!!! How AMAZING is that? Of course there is more to it, for He says in John 14:15

“If you love Me, keep My commandments.”

So it is shameful to sin knowing we’ll be forgiven right away (which i fall victim to sometimes…)

Hmmm..well, it’s 144 AM. I have a wake up time of 755 AM….i am going to bed! Night y’all!

p.s. a blog is more appealing to readers eyes with a picture, so here’s a picture of my cutie patootie nephew (who i can never get enough of!!!)

ps most pictures of him are stolen from my sisters fb. 🙂

One Response to “Today….”

  1. Nolie 2010 September 16 at 1:11 pm #

    Haha! What a night! Thank you for sharing Miss Kattie sister-in-law-squared. 🙂

Leave a Reply

