i still have Hope.

16 Sep

I am a hopeful person. I’m also a big daydreamer. My imagination runs wild and i’m left with a mess of a mixture of hope and dreams. It’s hard sometimes to clarify which is which. But regardless, I am a hopeful person.

Remedy Drive’s song “Hope” tells us that

“Hope’s not giving up.”

Langston Hughes tells us to

“Hold fast to dreams. For if dreams die, life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly. Hold fast to dreams. For when dreams go, life is a barren field, frozen with snow.”

Romans 8:24-25 tell us that

For we were saved in this hope, but hope that is seen is not hope; for why does one still hope for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance.

Many folks, even myself at times, find hope to be wishful thinking. But that’s not what it is. It’s having confidence and assurance for the future the Lord has promised us. He tell us in Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

I know many folks who lose hope too easily. Who give up their hope when life gets hard and all seems impossible. But if you give up, then is it really hope?

All I can say is through my life i have at times gone through periods where i feel lame for holding onto hope. There are times, of course, I know the hope i hold onto IS in fact wishful thinking and a small part of me knows it’ll never happen. There are periods where it doesn’t seem reasonable for me to hold on to hope. But i do, and when my hope if fulfilled…i am reminded why we should never give up hope. I haven’t lost hope….but i have GAINED more hope this last year. I know when I am being stupid and fleshly. I know when my heart is full of uneasiness and He is telling me to give up my hope for something…but this time around, it’s not true. And one day when I am older, I will be happy I didn’t give up hope. I won’t give up my hope in Jesus. I won’t give up my hope in His promises. I won’t give up hope. I may be stubborn and go through valleys while hoping, but the outcome is worth it all.

My favorite Proverb, 13:12 states

“Hope deferred make the heart sick, but when the desire comes, it is the tree of life.”

Switchfoot has a song on their newest cd, Hello Hurricane, called “Yet”. I love it, it’s been on repeat for the last hour. Jon Foreman was stated as saying the following about this song,

“The song is about hope. Hope is always reaching towards the future, reaching for what has not yet come to pass. Once the hope is attained, it can no longer be called hope. Hope isn’t the sort of thing you can pull out of your pocket and show off. Hope is a “holding on” of sorts, an expectant belief, a desire as of yet unfulfilled. I wrote this song from a really dark place, looking for some form of hope. And maybe searching for hope is a form of hope in itself. There’s a moment of honesty when your mask drops, when you can no longer pretend to have it all together. When this pretense is gone you breathe in your first real breath. When you are no longer pretending to be something you’re not, you’re left with a truly honest assessment of the situation. Very little is left, ‘Faith, hope, and love remain. But the greatest of these is love.’ “

Yet – Switchfoot

All attempts have failed
All my heads are tails
She’s got teary eyes
I’ve got reasons why
I’m losing ground
And gaining speed
I’ve lost myself
Or most of me
I’m ready for the final precipice

But you haven’t lost me yet
No, you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll sing until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me

These days pass me by
I dream with open eyes
Nightmares haunt my days
Visions blur my nights
I’m so confused
What’s true or false
What’s fact or fiction after all
I feel like I’m an apparition’s pet

But you haven’t lost me yet
No you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll run until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me yet
Oo, oo

If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break
If it doesn’t break your heart it isn’t love
No, if it doesn’t break your heart it’s not enough
It’s when you’re breaking down with your insides coming out
It’s when you find out what your heart is made of

And you haven’t lost me yet
No, you haven’t lost me yet
I’ll sing until my heart caves in
No, you haven’t lost me yet
‘Cause you haven’t lost me yet

….i still have hope, do you?

One Response to “i still have Hope.”

  1. Nolie 2010 September 17 at 12:32 pm #

    As of last weekend, I didn’t have much hope. With my eyes wide open, I was letting the devil get the best of me. I didn’t care enough to fight it. But the last few days, my hope has been restored. I’m letting God inch back into focus.

    Thank you for sharing. Hope is a powerful thing. Hope, dream, love, laugh, live. 🙂

Leave a Reply

