Hold fast..

5 Sep

Growing up, my sisters and i had TONS and TONS of books. We had pretty much every Dr. Seuss. Books about bodies, dinosaurs, trains, kittens, the alphabet, dogs, ghosts, The Goodnight Book. We also had a nice thick book full of poetry and short stories. There was one poem I have had memorized since I was probably 6-years-old. It has always stuck out to me. It’s kinda sad, kinda hopeful, and definitely not a poem I’d imagine a child at 6-years to love. But I did and still do!

Hold Fast to Dreams – Langston Hughes

Hold fast to dreams for if dreams die,

life is a broken-winged bird that cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams for when dreams go,

life is a barron field frozen with snow.

That’s it…short and sweet. And though it made no sense to me at 6, why i loved it, it has probably altered my life in a way i never realized. I don’t give up easily. I’m sorta stubborn. I don’t give up on hope. I don’t lose my dreams. Even when it feels like i should and they’re meaningless. Hold fast to your dreams. Thank you, Mr. Hughes.

Leave a Reply

