like honey on my lips…

25 Jun

is a good song with amazing lyrics

a song that captivates my mind

a song that can take me back to happier times..

or even sadder times.

a song that makes my heart skip a beat due to its resemblance with my own life

a song that feels as though it was written for me

a song that can PERFECTLY describe how i am feeling

especially when i cannot fathom the words to describe how i’m feeling

a song that tells a beautiful story

or captures the pain we feel

a song that speaks of the glory of our Lord and Savior in a new light

a song that makes the world around me disappear as i am drawn in…

A Mirror is Harder to Hold – Jon Foreman

You could stay a while longer
We could stay up and talk about last summer
We could go down to the water
Watch the sunset going under
It’s not that I’m a stranger to lonely moments
I’ve had my share of those
Please don’t go
Please don’t leave me alone
A mirror is so much harder to hold

I could try and point the finger
But the glass points in my direction
Sure you’ve got your sharp edges
But my wounds are for my own reflection
You’ve got nothing I could ever hold against you
I’ve got fatal flaws to call my own
Please don’t go
Please don’t leave me alone
A mirror is so much harder to hold

I met a man who’s looking for perfection
Said he’d never met a girl who’s good enough
His eyes are getting old like they’d love to love again
Such a lonely man
Such a lonely man

I see him in my reflection
Taking steps towards me these days
So I hold you that much closer
And pray we don’t throw this away
It’s not that I’m a man who couldn’t love you
I know what these arms are for
Please don’t go
Please don’t leave me alone
A mirror is so much harder to hold
A mirror is so much harder to hold
Please don’t go
Please don’t leave me cold
A mirror is so much harder to hold

Last year I was on a Lifehouse lyric tangent…and it was a weekly or even bi or tri-weekly occurrence. It’s not just that i love that band (i guess you can call me obsessed…) but the lyrics were so beautifully written and more often than not i would find a song that would portray my exact feelings at any given moment. I think I may post a blog for my favorite lyrics each week…so this is number 1. I just heard it…heard a couple key words, looked up the lyrics and what do ya know? I had the familiar palpitation that occurs in my heart when i find lyrics that feel as though they were written specifically for me…and HAD to share them 🙂 Since i suck at writing and getting my points or feelings across i can usually do so with some lyrics 🙂 And when the lyrics just so happen to be accompanied with a wonderful and heart palpitating voice like Jason Wade’s (or Shawn McDonald and Jon Foreman)…then it makes them that much better!

Leave a Reply

