New Year’s resolutions! for…Me?!?!?

5 Jan

I have NEVER been the type to set resolutions for the new year…rather I set up resolutions at random times of the year. This year, ironically some resolutions came up right around December 31 and on that day I realized I have two.

1. Less time on the computer
I have battled an addiction (i will admit it) to the internet for years…more specifically myspace and facebook. I can spending countless meaningless hours doing who know’s what on these websites…and I started feeling convicted of it. That being said, I gave my laptop to my sister for safe keeping. It’s weird. I mean REALLY REALLY weird.
I get home and don’t go on the computer first thing..I don’t quite know how to occupy my time…I’ve been reading more and have had some awesome fellowship with my roommates and other friends this past week. I also have been consuming my time with my second goal…
I’m just glad I actually did something about this…

2. To get fit
I know this is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo cliche’ but it’s true. My goal isn’t to lose weight, but just to get fit. I hate how lazy I’ve become. I know that I can get in amazing shape really quick. That being said, I’ve been running more. I hate running, but I have a good neighborhood for it now and also get to spend some time with Jesus on those runs. So far I’ve been on two this last week, and I found out I ran 1.8 miles yesterday! Most of it was running as well.
When I begin to feel as though I am done running and ready to walk…I just think of Jesus and how he fasted for 40 days and I know that if He as a man can do that…I can run for 1/4 more of a mile. Ha. Like Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do ALL things through Christ who strengthens me”
Sad thing though with the cold air is that I think I may have exercise induced asthma, after my first run I began coughing a lot and felt wheezy…but it wasn’t that bad yesterday…so who knows!

Leave a Reply

