Love…or something like it

1 Dec

I love love

I love the hope of falling  in love and being married

I love the feeling of falling for someone

I love the moments that when looking back, take your breath away.

I never knew I was a “romantic” person until one of my really good friends pointed it out. I must have been so blind! Fairy Tale like fantasies often fill my mind. Sometimes those dreams are mistaken for hope, and that’s when I find myself in trouble. My imagination comes up with these ridiculous situations of rocks being thrown at my bedroom window, a mysterious white envelope left on my windshield, flowers left outside my doorstep, seeing him at a spot we shared, or even being woken up at 2 am by the strumming of a guitar and the voice of a singing prince charming.

Needless to say, the list of fantasies goes on. And when none of those things happen, I end up uberly disappointed and hopeless.

This just proves to me, time and time again, that I cannot place my hope in man. Because even the man I marry some day will disappoint me, but there is one Man who will never disappoint me. And if i feel disappointed, it is not right for everything this Man does is for my own good. (Jeremiah 29:11)

I may be single, again….and I may be hating it, but I am who I am because of it.

Leave a Reply

